Law Office of Gary Michael Gabry
An Experienced Criminal Defense Attorney Serving Kalamazoo
Call Us Today For Help 269-389-9113

Michigan’s underage drinking laws

If your child has been charged with underage drinking by law enforcement officers in Michigan, you may be wondering what the exact laws are that deal with this situation. We at the Law Office of Gary Michael Gabry are available to fight for your child’s rights as well as explain the state laws and regulations for underage drinking.

 

According to the Alcohol Policy Information System, there are laws concerning the consumption of alcohol by youth as well as the purchase and distribution of alcoholic substances. The laws state that no youth under the age of 18 is allowed to consume or possess any alcohol. This includes wine, beer and spirits. There are no exceptions to this rule, even if you made the choice, as a parent, to provide the alcohol. In fact, prosecutors can also charge you if you were the one who provided the drinks.

 

If your child works as a waiter or waitress in an eating establishment, he or she is also not allowed to be a server or bartender until past the age of 18. Youth working in other establishments must also adhere to the same age limits. While the legal age for alcohol consumption is 18 years old, drivers are held to stricter standards. Your child can be cited for any detectable trace of alcohol in their blood until they are 21 years old.

 

If your child uses false identification to obtain alcohol, the consequences can be even more severe and qualify as a criminal offense. For more information on this topic, please visit our web page.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Contact

G. M. Gabry Law
1300 West Centre Ave.
Ste. 100
Portage, MI 49024

Phone: 269-389-9113
Portage Law Office Map

Review Us