The State Doesn't Take Multiple OWIs Lightly — Neither Should You

The penalty for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs increases noticeably in the second and subsequent offenses if you are charged with DUI within seven years after your first offense.

If you receive two DUI convictions within seven years of each other, the major administrative consequence is that your driver's license could be suspended for up to one year. Additionally, a second DUI can incur criminal penalties, including a fine ranging from $200 to $1,000, five days to one year in jail, and 30 to 90 days of community service.

In some cases, the driver will be required to attend "DUI school" before regaining his license. In more serious instances, an ignition interlock device could be installed in the driver's car, forcing him to take Breathalyzer test before the vehicle will start. A second DUI/OWI is considered a misdemeanor offense in Michigan, although the charge will rise to a felony if the DUI leads to an accident that causes death or serious injury.

Know Your Options

As with a first DUI offense, defendants have the option of pleading guilty or not guilty, or attempting to negotiate a plea deal. This can be a difficult decision, but an experienced Kalamazoo lawyer like Gary Gabry can help make the process easier by laying out the advantages and disadvantages of each strategy.

Gary worked as a prosecutor for 24 years; in that time he handled hundreds of DUI cases and trained other lawyers to do the same. As a criminal defense attorney today, Gary is able to use his experience as a former prosecutor to anticipate the strategies of the other side. This is critical in second and third DUI cases because the penalties can be so severe.

How Can We Help?

To see how G. M. Gabry Law can help you, contact us at 269-389-9113 to schedule a free consultation. We represent clients throughout southwest Michigan, including the cities of Kalamazoo and Portage.